L'astérisk's mission 

L'astérisk aims to offer 2SLGBTQIA+ youth:

  • A space in the VIllage dedicated to their resources and activities.

  • A welcoming safe(r) space where they can meet other 2SLGBTQIA+ youth in a community of respect and learning. 

  • Opportunities to share community tools, initiatives and support with other 2SLGBTQIA+ youth. 

  • A collaborative workspace for the Roomate-organisations and our partners offering services to 2SLGBTQIA+ youth that includes these youth in the decision making. 

This is where the name l'astérisk comes from!

 

 L'astérisk's history 

L'astérisk was founded after years of advocacy by 2SLGBTQIA+ youth combined with collaboration between LGBTQ+ youth groups and public and community actors dedicated to the development of resources for 2SLGBTQIA+ youth. 

 

Spring 2007: After being kicked out of a restaurent in the Village they were used to meet in because they weren't consuming enough, a group of 2SLGBTQIA+ youth put together a committee to advocate for an accessible space to 2SLGBTQIA+ youth in the Village. 

Winter 2007-2008: Four consultation groups are organised where 2SLGBTQIA+ youth are able to name their needs in a safe(r) space. 

 

Summer 2009: Twelve LGBTQ+ youth groups walk together during the Montreal Pride parade to express their need for a safe(r) space in the Village. 

June 2010: The project receives its first grant from the Youth Forum of the Island of Montreal. The Forum meets various partners (Project 10, Gai Écoute, GRIS-Montréal, the QC LGBT Council and the Council for Social Diversity of the City of Montreal) to draft an action plan (adopted September 2011). 

 

March 2012: The grant is given to the Coalition of LGBTQ+ youth groups (formerly, the Montreal Coalition against homophobia).

July 2012: The first employee coordinating the project is hired. 

 

Summer 2013: The team moves into 1575 Atateken street (formerly, Amherst street). The youth committee is formed and names the space "l'astérisk". 

The name l'astérisk is a reference to the symbol (*) often used to express inclusion and the plurality of diversity. L'astérisk is a contraction of the word in french and in english to emphasis the bilingualism of the space

 

On August 17 2013, l'astérisk opens. 

On September 17 2014, we celebrate l'astérisk's first birthday and the official inauguration. 

Spring 2015: After the announcement of the closure of the Quebec government's Regional Youth Forum, the Coalition expresses their fear for the l'astérisk project which depends on the Youth Forum of the Island of Montreal to survive. 

A committee is formed by the Coalition and Jeunesse Lambda to save l'astérisk. Community and private partners, including Manon Massé, the representative of Sainte-Marie-Saint-Jacque in the national assembly, take part in a committee to advocate for and raise awareness about the importance of l'astérisk. 

Winter 2015: The first grant from the Youth Secretariat is received which offers relief to the l'astérisk team who had been working in survival mode. An agreement, part of the 2016-2021 youth action strategy, is signed to ensure the sustainability of the project. 

November 2016: AlterHéros becomes l'astérisk's third Roomate joining Project 10 and Jeunesse Lambda. 

Winter 2016-2017: The Coalition recieves a grant for the Youth Secretariat making it possible to hire a project manager and to free the Roomates from the space's rent fees.

La mission de l'astérisk 

L'astérisk à pour but d'offrir aux jeunes 2SLGBTQIA+:

  • Un espace dans le Village dédié à leurs resources et à leurs activités.

  • Un espace bienveillant et acceuillant pour rencontrer d'autres jeunes LGBTQ+ dans le respect et l'apprentissage. 

  • Des opportunités d'échanges d'outils, d'intiatives et de soutien communautaires entre paires. 

  • Un espace collaboatif de travail pour les Colocs de l'astérisk et nos partenaires offrant des services aux jeunes LGBTQ+ où les jeunes 2SLGBTQIA+ sont inclus.e.s dans les prises de décisions. 

Voici d'où vient le nom l'astérisk!

 

 L'histoire de l'astérisk 

L'astérisk a été fondé.e grâce à des années de revendication par des jeunes 2SLGBTQIA+ et de collaboration entre des groupes jeunesses LGBTQ+ et des acteurs/actrices publics et communautaires dédié.e.s au développement des resources pour les jeunes LGBTQ+.

 

Printemps 2007: Après qu’iels aient été expulsé.e.s d’un restaurant dans le Village dans lequel iels avaient l’habitude de se rencontrer en raison qu’iels ne consommaient pas assez, un groupe de jeunes 2SLGBTQIA+ forment un comité pour revendiquer leurs besoins d’espaces accessibles dans le Village. 

 

Hiver 2007-2008: Quatres groupes de consultation sont formés pour que les jeunes 2SLGBTQIA+ puissent nommer leurs besoins pour un espace bienveillant. 

 

Été 2008: douze groupes jeunesses LGBTQ+ marchent ensemble durant la parade de Fierté Montréal pour démontrer leur besoin d’un espace bienveillant dans le Village. 

 

Juin 2010: Le projet reçoit sa première subvention par le Forum Jeunesse de l’île de Montréal. Le FRIJ rencontre divers partenaires (Projet 10, Gai Écoute, GRIS-Montréal, le Conseil QC LGBT et le Conseil de la Diversité Sociale de la Ville de Montréal) pour rédiger un plan d’action (adopté en Septembre 2011). 

 

Mars 2012: La subvention est donnée à la Coalition des Groupes Jeunesse LGBTQ+ (anciennement, la Coalition Montréalaise de lutte à l’homophonie).

 

Juillet 2012: La première personne employée à la coordination du projet est embauchée. 

 

Été 2013: L’équipe emménage dans le 1575 rue Atateken (anciennement, rue Amherst). Le comité jeunesse est formé et nomme l’espace «l'astérisk». 

 

Le nom l'astérisk fait référence au symbole (*) qui est souvent utilisé pour exprimer l’inclusion et la pluralité de la diversité. L’astérisk est une contraction de ce mot en français et en anglais pour mettre l’emphase sur le bilinguisme de l’espace

 

Le 17 Août 2013, l’astérisk ouvre. 

 

Le 17 Septembre 2014, on fête le première anniversaire de l’astérisk et l’inauguration officiel. 

 

Printemps 2015: Suite à l’annonce de la fermeture du Forum Jeunesse Régionale du Gouvernement du Québec, la Coalition exprime ses craintes pour le projet l’astérisk qui dépend du Forum Jeunesse de l’île de Montréal pour sa survie. 

 

Un comité est formé par la Coalition et Jeunesse Lambda pour sauver l'astérisk. Des partenaires communautaires et privé.e.s, incluant Manon Massé, la représentante de Sainte-Marie-Saint-Jacque à l’assemblé nationale, partipent au comité pour revendiquer et promouvoir l’importance l’astérisk.  

 

Hiver 2015: La première subvention du Secrétariat à la Jeunesse est reçue se qui amène du soulagement à l’équipe de l'astérisk qui travaillait en mode de survie. Une entente financière, faisant partie de la stratégie action jeunesse 2016-2021, est signée avec le SAJ pour assurer la durabilité du projet. 

 

En Novembre 2016, AlterHéros devient l'troisième Coloc de l’astérisk auprès de Projet 10 et Jeunesse Lambda. 

 

Hivers 2016-2017: La Coalition reçoit une subvention du Secrétariat à la Jeunesse qui permet d’embaucher un agent.e de projet de l’astérisk et de libéré les Colocs des frais associés au loyer.